The Musicians of Orchestra New England

The size of Orchestra New England’s presentations varies from 10–38 players. Approximately one-fifth of the performers in ONE in a given season are non-permanent, but consistently engaged. Second chair winds and brass are permanent members. The core leadership includes:

Raphael Ryger: with ONE since 1982 and concertmaster since 1984. Ryger is a prominent soloist in the area and developer of artifical intelligence software for Thomson Reuters.

Artemis Simerson: with ONE since 1982 and assistant concermaster or principal second violin since 1984. Teaches violin at Neighborhood Music School.

Marvin Warshaw: principal violist of ONE, has been with the orchestra since 1994. He is also principal violist, personnel manager, and librarian of the New Haven Symphony Orchestra and conductor of the Neighborhood Music School’s Concert Orchestra.

Eliot Bailen: co-principal cellist of ONE since 1981, lives in New York City. He leads a chamber music series and produces music development events for young audiences.

Joseph Russo: principal bassist of ONE since 1978, is ONE’s personnel manager and a composer.

Keith Underwood: principal flutist of ONE since 2005, is a leading musical pedagogue in New York City.

Vicki Bodner: principal oboist of ONE since 1979, lives and teaches in New York City.

Reesa Gringorten: principal clarinetist of ONE since 1982, teaches at Neighborhood Music School and is a member of the New Haven Symphony Orchestra.

Garrett Bennett: principal bassoonist of ONE since 1974, teaches music at Wesleyan University.

Robert Hoyle: principal hornist of ONE since 2001, teaches music at the Hartt School of Music.

Charles Bumcrot: principal trumpeter of ONE since 1983, lives in New Jersey and teaches music at Keane University and Montclair State.

Patrick Smith: principal percussionist of ONE since 1991, is band director at the Coop High School for the Arts.

Raphael Ryger, Concertmaster
Gary Capozziello
Diane Orson
Artemis Simerson
Stefan Tieszen
Gregory Tompkins

Marvin Warshaw, Principal

Eliot Bailen, Co-Principal
Steven Thomas, Co-Principal

Joseph Russo, Principal

Keith Underwood, Principal
Elssa Green

Vicki Bodner, Principal
Stephen Wade

Reesa Gringorten, Principal
Andrew Grenci

Garrett Bennett, Principal
Sue Zoellner-Cross

French Horn
Robert Hoyle, Principal
Sara Della Posta

Charles Bumcrot, Principal

Patrick Smith

Contact Us
(203) 777-4690

Orchestra New England
P.O. Box 200123
New Haven, CT 06520

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software